• 2.322.322.322.322.32
  • 1.911.911.911.911.91
  • 2.232.232.232.232.23
  • 2.232.232.232.232.23
2.2 2011-07-08 Schools in Review Full Sail University
School Type: Universities / Colleges
Locations: Winter Park, FL
Degrees: Associate's, Bachelor's, Master's
Programs: Film, Recording Arts, Music Business, Computer Animation, Game Design, and more (35 total)
Tuition Range: 30,000 - 80,000
Visit Website

Located in Winter Park, Florida, Full Sail has in recent years become well-known as one of the top ranked schools in the country for education in the media and entertainment arts. It offers a comprehensive array of 35 degree options (including associate’s, bachelor’s and master’s), in subjects that include film, recording arts, music business, entertainment business, computer animation, game design, website design and many other media-related fields. Boasting over 35,000 graduates and 13,000 current students, Full Sail offers degree programs both on-campus and online. Enrollment is open on a rolling basis, with new programs starting each month.

Perhaps the most defining characteristic of Full Sail is its intensive educational approach; a complete bachelor’s program can be finished in about 20 months, about half the time as it takes at most universities. Expect to pay premium rates for this education; a typical bachelor’s program costs about $77,000 to complete, and no on-campus housing is available.

Address


View Larger Map

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Student Reviews

Full Sail University Review Rating: 2.17045454545 out of 5 based on 22 Ratings

Located in Winter Park, Florida, Full Sail has in recent years become well-known as one of the top ranked schools in the country for education in the media and entertainment arts. It offers a comprehensive array of 35 degree options (including associate’s, bachelor’s and master’s), in subjects that include film, recording arts, music business, entertainment [...]

  • Review by Paul F Davis Schools In Review Verified
    June 5, 2013
    Overall Rating 33333
    Tuition 33333
    Curriculum 33333
    Instructors 33333

    Thanks for these many great transparent and insightful reviews. I’m consider Full Sail’s master degree in Internet Marketing. I’ve already got Master degrees in Global Affairs (NYU) and Global Food Law (MSU), wouldn’t change a thing. I believe in personal investment and leveraging knowledge continuously in a multiplicity of ways.

    Debt Accrued: Greater than $50,000

    Found work after graduation? Yes

  • Review by Quinton J.  Schools In Review Verified
    July 22, 2012
    Overall Rating 22222
    Tuition 22222
    Curriculum 22222
    Instructors 22222

    I have attended Cuyahoga Community College where I studied Recording Arts and Technology. I am currently enrolled in Full Sail University’s Music Business online degree program. I am a year away from earning a B.A. at Full Sail University.

    On my own, I have interned with Telarc International a multi-grammy winning record label (no help from the school finding this internship opportunity). I also Interned at Ante Up Audio a multi platinum winning Recording Studio (no help from the school finding this internship opportunity either). I currently work as a security guard (to pay bills), and occasionally freelance as an audio engineer. I am also working on an album entitled “Thrill of the Chase, On the Pursuit of Happiness,” where I illustrate my journey through hip-hop music.

    I feel that neither school has meet my expectations so far. I would recommend Tri-C only to those that want to be an engineer or stay behind the scenes. If they are looking at school as a way to help their career as an artist I believe there are better ways to invest their money.

    As far as Full Sail University goes the jury is still out on whether I would recommend their program to anyone. Once I graduate I’m to receive access to their alumni portal that has an exclusive industry job board (TBD). If I had an opportunity to do it all over again I would not. My passion has always been in writing and performing music not recording others doing it.

    Debt Accrued: Greater than $50,000

  • Review by Justin S.  Schools In Review Verified
    July 20, 2012
    Overall Rating 55555
    Tuition 33333
    Curriculum 44444
    Instructors 44444

    I graduated from Full Sail University’s film program, with a Bachelor’s Degree in Film. I was working full time in a retail managers position for over 2 years before I applied and was accepted. After struggling for 3 months to balance work and school, I decided it would be much better to dedicate all of my time to my studies. I quit my job and decided to take out student loans to complete my curriculum. The tuition cost was $70,000. I also took out an additional private loan, in the amount of $26,000 to pay bills and survive on a daily basis, now that I did not have any income… TOTAL: $96,000 of DEBT(Not including interest!!!). Aside of the debt that I have(HUGE emotional toll), I was given an AMAZING education. It was complete hands on for the full 21 month curriculum. It was everything I was looking for, plus more. I was expecting to be able to specialize in the camera department. I had a huge fascination with 35mm film and developing prints. We had more access to industry leading equipment than I had thought we would.

    Although I knew that I wanted to specialize in the camera department, I was astounded by all of the classes they offered. I got to experiment with directing, lighting, scriptwriting, casting, editing, cinematography, and a little producing as well. Even the lecture classes had structure and excitement. We had professors who were just as excited about teaching us, as we were in learning the material.

    After graduating in May ’09, I relocated to the Chicagoland area. Since then, I have found work in alot of different fields. I have worked on two nationally syndicated tv shows, America’s Got Talent, and X-Factor. I have also worked independently to produce two full music videos, a couple promo videos, and I’m currently in negotiation on my first commercial advertisement. Although I enjoy everything I do, I am not seeing as much return as I need to live.

    I currently work full time as a server for Olive Garden, to pay my bills and get by, day to day. If I was asked… Would I do it all over again??? HELL YEA, I WOULD!!! I would definitely change a couple things, but overall, I have no doubt that I would do it all over again. If I knew someone who was planning to attend film school, I would definitely offer my expertise and give a few pointers. My first piece of advice would be to NETWORK NETWORK NETWORK. Not only with your fellow students, but your professors as well. Talk to them, find out who they know, what they know… Pick their brains whenever you can!! Secondly, WORK IN THE INDUSTRY while you attend school. The more you make a name for yourself now, the better you will be when you graduate. Take the time to plan your future.

    Debt Accrued: Greater than $50,000

    Found work after graduation? Yes

  • Review by Jamaal C. Schools In Review Verified
    July 10, 2012
    Overall Rating 55555
    Tuition 55555
    Curriculum 55555
    Instructors 55555

    I attended Full Sail University, Orlando, Florida in 1996 and graduated with a Specialized Associates Degree in Recording Engineering and Entertainment Business.

    In the years since graduation I have found lots of work. Lately there has not been much work.
    I definitely would do it over again. I was thinking of going back and using my free credits

    If you’re thinking about going to a school like Full Sail know this: you will not be able to have a girl friend, job, or time to party. It’s hard work.

  • Review by Jim F. Schools In Review Verified
    June 18, 2012
    Overall Rating 11111
    Tuition 11111
    Curriculum 11111
    Instructors 11111

    I graduated back in 2006 from Full Sail with a Bachelor’s degree and then I started the Master’s Program but I did not finish the Master’s Program. It was in education technology, but I stopped because it wasn’t really going in the direction that I thought it was going to. I didn’t think it was going to make a difference at the end of the day either.

    As far as meeting my expectations, it did, while I was there, let me put it that way. It met every expectation that I thought the school was going to, it met that to a T. We got the hands-on experience. We got the foundation in the Program that I was in. I was comfortable in the environment. Everything I expected the school to do, they did, while I was there. Yeah, like I said, everything I expected the school to be, it was. It was a good experience all around. The best thing that I got out of the school, the best thing, is pretty much meeting all of my peers. The people that I still stay in contact with and those individuals are the best thing that I honestly, seriously.

    When I graduated in 2006, I was actually back home and I was doing the program on-line when I got my Bachelor’s. So I got my Bachelor’s at Full Sail completely on-line, so I was back in Maryland. I moved to Atlanta, Georgia in 2007. I interned at Tree Sounds Studio. Then I went to work at Music House Studio as an assistant and then after that I worked for this company called Respectable Society Entertainment. And we went on to do a couple of film, TV and music projects. Since that point, I’ve created my own production company, Black Seventh Media. And since that point, I’ve really just been freelancing as an audio engineer, a sound designer and music Producer.

    But my thing is, if you’re going to school, and I stand by this 110%, if you are going to one of these music schools for audio engineering, music, music Production, trying to work at a record label, a lot of you, not all of you, because somebody’s going to win the lottery, you know what I mean, they’re banking on somebody at that school to come out and make a success of themselves. So they can continue to market the school to other individuals and bring them in the door and then the same process. I would say 80% of the individuals that graduate from schools like that, end up doing something totally different from what they went to school for.

    So my thing is, choose your Program wisely. I often encourage anybody who wants to do music or get into the music industry, just to do a little bit of research. Let me tell you something, if you want to be an audio engineer and you want to work at Tree or intern at Tree or do something like that, just go take a Pro Tools class. You can take a Pro Tools class for $5,000, you can get certified, and then put that on your resume and I promise you, you can work at any studio in the United States of America and abroad. I Promise you.

    If you want to work at a record label, honestly, go to regular college, get a degree in business management, try to go get an M.B.A. somewhere. Actually, study the subject of business because business is business. Regardless of what entity it’s in. It doesn’t matter if it’s economics, if it’s international, if it’s music, it’s all business. So you just need to understand business itself. So I would actually recommend going to a regular university and then using their internship programs at your university to intern at a record label. Then go on to build your relationship that way because, number one, a public university is going to be a hell of a lot cheaper than a private music school.

    Some of these music schools don’t even give you a degree at the end of it so you do all this work and you do all this stuff and then at the end, you have a certificate and the certificate, the diploma and the degree means absolutely nothing to anybody else in the outside marketplace. So if you’re not doing what you went to school for, if you’re not doing audio engineering, then guess what? You’re going to have a hard time finding a job somewhere, unless you’re working at Guitar Center or whatever. So I always encourage everybody to just figure out exactly what you want to do, and try to talk to somebody that has gone through that and allow their experience to guide you in the right direction.

    They teach you, like at Full Sail, where I went, every class was one month. So they give you just enough, so you get a little bit of the foundation so you know a little bit of what you’re talking about when you get out there in the real world. Honestly, Full Sail is a school, to me, where they’re trying to like turn people over quick and get people in and get people out. They’re turning them over real, real quick. It’s a profit school, you know?

    If I knew then what I know now, I would not go to Full Sail. I would have kept myself debt-free. The heartache of having all that debt, it’s not heartache, it’s just having to pay it is extremely annoying. It’s not that I’m not successful and things are going to start to take place for me and I’ll be able to pay it off. That’s my goal and that’s what’s going to happen so I’m not really worried about it.

    But if I had to do it all over, I would definitely allow myself more time, go to a regular four-year university and take the actual slower route to getting to where I wanted to go. Instead of trying to microwave everything and try to get the next day.

    Debt Accrued: Greater than $50,000

    Found work after graduation? Yes

  • Review by Chris L. Schools In Review Verified
    June 17, 2012
    Overall Rating 11111
    Tuition 11111
    Curriculum 11111
    Instructors 11111

    I graduated from Full Sail University, back then it was Full Sail Real World Education. When I was 20, so that was 10 years ago, nine technically. I’m 29. Basically I was really young when I made the decision to go there. I dropped out of high school, got my GED, because I always knew that film making was my passion and that’s what I wanted to do.

    Full Sail was sort of the first place that I researched and then decided on. I didn’t really put enough effort into really sort of expanding and looking into my options. It’s an extremely expensive school. I feel like I’m never going to get out of debt. It’s a crash course. It was 13 months of school. They cram in two years of credits into that small period of time, to sort of get you in gear for the industry has zany hours. I would have to go to lab at 1:00, 3:00, 5:00 in the morning.

    Each course sort of felt like the cliff’s notes version of that topic. Because it’s usually only a month long and there’s so many students and so much going on, that teachers didn’t really have enough one on one interaction or time to focus. They forgot who you were basically the next month because of how many more students were coming in. I think that, you know, over the years what I’ve learned, basically still just trying to get my foot in the door as a writer and on that side of things. Is that if you want to work in production the best way to do that is just try and meet people on set by getting yourself a PA job.

    If you want to work on the business side of things I think it’s more beneficial to go to an actual, legit college, that people interviewing you will know of. I think it’s more worthy to get yourself a degree in something along the lines of, you know, like communications or public relations. Something like that versus a film degree. I just think technical degrees are sort of a little bit of a joke. I’ve definitely heard, even in that Kevin Smith movie Chris Rock is like “I bet you went to film school, didn’t you?” It’s just sort of one of those things that’s not really necessary. It’s really who you know and how you get yourself out there and work your way up. I think that’s a free lesson, not a $60,000 student loan debt lesson.

    Debt Accrued: Greater than $50,000

  • Review by Bryan B. Schools In Review Verified
    June 14, 2012
    Overall Rating 33333
    Tuition 22222
    Curriculum 33333
    Instructors 33333

    I went to Full Sail University where I got an Associates in Show Production and Touring. Which is kind of audio engineering and I got a bachelors in Entertainment Business. I was one of the first students to get a bachelors degree from Full Sail. They started the bachelors degree program when I was there. I think I was in the second class. So, I am definitely within the first 100 people to get a bachelors degree from Full Sail, maybe the first 50 to get a bachelors degree from there and I feel like I could talk about my experience at both schools, in-depth.

    I decided to go with show production and touring, because of all the degree programs there. It had the highest job placement rate. The tuition was little less than some of the other things, too. It wasn’t quite as much, as it was for film, and stuff like that.

    I have a lot of mixed feelings about it, whether it was a good decision, or not. I guess it, kind of, depends on what day of the week you ask me. Sometimes I think I made a really good choice in going there. Sometimes I really regret it. Most of that anxiety revolves around the student loan debt. Because I’ve had that ever since I graduated, and it is a burden. It does really hold me back. It holds me back in just achieving personal goals and it holds me back in my career. I can’t take risks.

    After I graduated from Full Sail I got a job at a place called Audiovisual Innovations doing install work. I actually installed a lot of the AV stuff in the classrooms, at Full Sail. I did a few months work with them. And then I get a job with a company called Presentation Services Audiovisual. They had a management training program, and I got put into that. I’ve been with that company for seven years, now. Basically, I’ve had one job, since graduating Full Sail.

    Schools like Full Sail, they don’t care what your grades were. They’ll take anybody. That can be a good thing or a bad thing. For me, I was ready to work hard and try to learn as much as I could, but I hadn’t made good grades in the past. So I couldn’t, really, get into a good college. It was too late for that. So, I just tried to make the most of the opportunity I was given. But, there were definitely people there who could not have gotten into any other college. I don’t know, it’s a really interesting situation.

    Anyway, yeah I still have student loan debt. I started with about $50,000 in student loan debt. That was in 2005. I’ve got about $36,000 in student loan debt, still. It weighs on me a lot, it’s tough. I think I would discourage anyone from taking out student loans for anything, right now. I have friends who went to art college and it didn’t work out, and they got a lot of student loan debt. I’ve got friends who have history degrees and tons of student loan debt. Just because it’s, kind of, not a traditional thing to go to school for, doesn’t necessarily make it more sinister than what some of the other colleges are pumping. I don’t know.

    Debt Accrued: $25,001 - $50,000

    Found work after graduation? No

  • Review by Samantha Rae L.  Schools In Review Verified
    February 10, 2012
    Overall Rating 55555
    Tuition 55555
    Curriculum 55555
    Instructors 55555

    I attended Full Sail University in Orlando, FL. and graduated with a BS in Film.

    Full Sail more than met my expectations. I chose this school because I knew I wasn’t a writer or director. The difference between Full Sail and other film programs is that you get hands on experience from the very beginning. We were lighting, rigging and shooting within the first few months whereas in other programs, you would have to wait 2 years, do basics and wait to be accepted into the film department (at some universities).

    Since graduation I have been working at a film festival for the past 2 years that has opened up opportunities for me to produce and production manage in film and television.

    Full sail is not the place.for writers and directors unless they feel that the technical aspect of filmmaking will effect their stories that much to justify that high of a tuition. Its a place for cinematographers, producers, art directors and other technical artists.

    Debt Accrued: Greater than $50,000

    Found work after graduation? Yes

  • Review by Christopher B. Schools In Review Verified
    January 21, 2012
    Overall Rating 22222
    Tuition 11111
    Curriculum 22222
    Instructors 22222

    I attended Full Sail University, in Winter Park, FL. They have an accelerated program, where you receive your Bachelor Degree in 21 months. I figured… that’s two years sooner than most people who attend 4-year universities will graduate… That’s two years sooner I can start getting experience in the industry. What I didn’t take into account was the fact that, since Full Sail has such an accelerated program, it’s not really feasible to hold down a full time job to pay the bills while you’re going to school. So not only did I have to take out loans to cover my tuition/school, I had to get loans to cover living expenses (rent, bills, insurance, gas/food, etc.) Because I wasn’t able to maintain an income, hold down a steady job, with the sometimes 60-hour school week, and the constantly changing school schedule…

    I initially enrolled in the school back in 2007, when I was 17, and was set to start classes that November. I had to cancel my enrollment, due to not being able to afford the school (cosigner issue). One thing led to another, I enlisted in the Navy, went to boot camp, was medically separated for a broken shoulder bone, and ended up coming back around to film school. Now, I’ve graduated, but am over $100,000 in student loan debt, with monthly payments reaching and exceeding $1,000. Just for student loan payments. Not my bills, rent, food, etc. I’m probably going to be paying this off (or trying to, at least) for the better part of my adult working life.

    In the sense of, “Did it teach me how to do the jobs in the film industry? Did it give me a basic understanding of how all of these positions work, and how to do them?” Yes, it did meet my expectations. But, unlike most careers which require such a large amount of capital investment to receive the education, there’s no clear work force to apply to out there. It’s not like a doctor, or a lawyer, where you can get a full-time job at a law firm or a hospital, and where there’s a very clear need for those occupations. It’s much more risky, doing entirely freelance work. Jobs come and go, most are impossible to work on if you don’t live in the immediate area, and most crew jobs I can get at this level in my career pay a significant amount less than minimum wage. (My last job I did, I worked audio for a feature, worked 17 days, made $1,000. Granted, too, this was an out-of-state film. So I was making 5-ish dollars an hour for what I was working. And then my down time, I was just stuck in a motel in Arkansas, with nothing progressive to do. This has become the “standard” for me.

    I’ve found work, yes. Although most gigs that pay anything decent require you to either A) Have a certain amount of years of experience, or have a certain amount of credits. I may know how to do the job perfectly well, but the fact that I don’t have the “right” experience deters me from jobs. Also, many jobs either require you to be a local to that area, or the ones that don’t, they don’t have it in the budget to cover travel/lodging. So if you WERE to do the gig, you’d be paying most, if not all, of your salary to travel and stay there, not to mention any equipment you have to rent in order to get the gig, as most independent projects require crew members to have their own gear. Sure, big budget productions can afford to rent the top of the line gear, but in order to get on those projects, you have to have a certain amount of experience, or credits. So the jobs I can get, I have to pay additional money to acquire my own gear. It ends up making a lot of jobs unprofitable. To the point where they cost more money to work on than I’d make.

    If you’re passionate about the field, if you know for sure that’s what you want to do, then sure. School’s a great start. But a part of me wonders… If I’d spent the time I went to school to work as a Production Assistant on a bunch of films, gotten credits/experience, learned my way through that path, would I have more of an edge than I do now? More capable, but less “experienced”… Less “years under my belt”… Not to mention a hundred grand in student loan bills that require a huge salary to pay off, which I’m not making. I just maxed out my third credit card, in fact. I’m telling you, if you’re willing to stick through it, I’m sure it will pay off. Just make sure you really know how stressful and frustrating it can be, knowing you have huge (in my case, $1,000 a month) student loan bills, and working freelance, never knowing when or where your next paycheck is coming from. Not to mention the fact that you never know how long it’s going to take to GET said paycheck. It’s not like a normal job, where you work two weeks, get a paycheck for two weeks…You work a gig, and then you sit, and you wait… And you wait… until the production decides to mail you a check. You could get paid cash the same day. You could have to wait a month and a half to get a check in the mail. So it’s very stressful, as far as money goes. Just know that, going into it. Make sure you’re okay with living like that, at least for awhile. You may have to get a job outside of your industry just to pay the bills.

    Knowing what I know now, I could’ve obtained my knowledge much cheaper and easier, for the path I want to do. With what I know now, I know I could’ve learned the equipment, read books, got low-level set positions and learned the business through experience. Then I wouldn’t have the huge bills, and I might be more comfortable working these lower-paying positions, since I wouldn’t need to make as much…

    Debt Accrued: Greater than $50,000

    Found work after graduation? Yes

  • Review by Wess A. Schools In Review Verified
    January 20, 2012
    Overall Rating 33333
    Tuition 11111
    Curriculum 22222
    Instructors 22222

    I attended Boise State University for Directing and Performance, before attending Full Sail University for film and television production and finally Full Sail University for Masters Degree in Entertainment Business. I graduated with my Bachelors degree in 2009 and My masters degree in 2011.

    I have student loan debt from 3 different degrees. My student loan debt from Boise State University is rather small, I worked full time, and then made payments for several years before starting Full Sail. My Full Sail debt is very high. The bachelors program i could not work, the hours were so demanding, and always changing, and class schedule was so sporadic, one week nights, one week days, sometimes half a week nights, and the next half days, sometimes class on Saturday and sometimes class on Sunday, I was unable to get a job that would work around my always changing such demanding schedule. I tried to do the school offered work, but because too much of my Income was based on Student loans, I wasn’t accepted to be part of that program. So I had to take enough in loans to pay for living expenses, and my schooling. Both the Bachelors and Masters degree was very expensive being that it is a private University, and the fact that its an accelerated program. I was able to work while attending the Masters program, but it was still expensive. So I still have over 100,000.00 in student loans.

    I learned a lot in the Bachelors degree program, but most of what i got out of it was experience and networking, but I had already gone to school before this, so I knew what to do, and what I wanted. I put a lot into the school, and got out what I wanted. If you didn’t know what you wanted, and didnt have that experience before, I don’t think you could have got what I did out of it.

    The masters degree program I felt like I got scammed, I had been a manager of a movie theatre and a bar during and after I attended Boise state, and worked with many other companies in a manager business relationship, so I knew some about business, and felt like what we learned in School was the Masters in Business for Dummies course. I didn’t learn much, most of what was taught i felt was common sense, and the grade school version of business. was not satisfied at all, and tried to leave, but because the school was such a short accelerated course, by the time i figured out that it wasn’t what i thought it was, I was already so far in the program, I wouldn’t be able to withdraw and get any of what i paid back, so i had no choice but to finish the degree.

    Since graduating, I have found lots of work in the film industry, I work as a union gaffer. I work lots, in FL, and quickly accelerated to the top of the FL film market. I recently moved to LA where I am trying to work this market now. I have not on the other hand been able to work any business jobs or masters level jobs. I produced 3 movies before taking my masters degree, and nothing since.

    I would recommend film school to others, but i recommend, taking some community collage courses, trying to get some entry level jobs, and see what part of the industry you want to work in. Some parts of the industry school would just be a waste, and other parts school is really good for you, but picking the right school for what you want to do is very important.

    Debt Accrued: Greater than $50,000

    Found work after graduation? Yes

  • Review by Mike T.  Schools In Review Verified
    November 23, 2011
    Overall Rating 33333
    Tuition 11111
    Curriculum 22222
    Instructors 22222

    I graduated from Full Sail and am about $31,000 in student debt. I did their Recording Arts program right out of High School and I don’t think I was ready to absorb as much as I needed to at that time to make it worth the price. I went back a few years later for the Entertainment Business Degree and I was in a more focused place to take better advantage of it.

    That being said, Full Sail promotes themselves as being, “Real World Education”, and has a schedule that doesn’t feature summer or winter breaks and a full semesters’ class is condensed into a month. The disadvantage is that there is a lot of information flying quickly that gets passed through without much time to process it and be fully capable of applying it. This is especially true in the Recording Arts Program.

    When I first graduated, I landed a job as an audio tech for the Army. After I left that job, I went on to work for National Geographic on the TV show and running sound for their live events stage. I have orked numerous freelance jobs doing sound design for commercials, short films, and voice over engineering. In addition to all of that, I have been a successful performer in a number of bands.

    I would recommend Full Sail with the addendum that it can be wasteful if it is viewed as a way to get out of going to a regular state university, which I felt a lot of kids at Full Sail were doing. Like any other field, if you have the proper talent and drive you can use any degree to find a job in your industry.

  • Review by Matt W. Schools In Review Verified
    November 13, 2011
    Overall Rating 11111
    Tuition 11111
    Curriculum 11111
    Instructors 11111

    I graduated from Full Sail in 2003. I went for recording arts and was never able to find a job working in a recording studio. I do production work now (live sound) which is not what I went to school for….funny story they sent me a list of places in my city and one of them was a transvestite strip club =) Needless to say I never called there placement department again.

  • Review by Sarah H.
    November 9, 2011
    Overall Rating 11111
    Tuition 11111
    Curriculum 11111
    Instructors 11111

    A total waste of money!! Definitely not the education promised vs what the tuition cost is about. This is coming from someone that is already established, not someone who “can’t make it”.

  • Review by Chon Y. (source)
    October 15, 2011
    Overall Rating 22222
    Tuition 22222
    Curriculum 22222
    Instructors 22222

    I enrolled in Full Sail university in January but decided to go another route. I reconsidered in October because the music business was really what I wanted to do. I was not prepared for what happened next.

    I was honest about prior offences that I had on my application. After all, I have gained three degrees and had never had any problems before with a background.

    Well they told me that for reasons of them helping me with employment after I graduate- I needed to submit to national background check!!! I DONT NEED THEM TO HELP ME FIND A JOB AFTER SCHOOL!

    I just can’t believe that our federal goverment would support a school and give them funds when they are discriminating against people for their past records.

  • Review by Erin J. (source)
    September 9, 2011
    Overall Rating 22222
    Tuition 22222
    Curriculum 22222
    Instructors 22222

    The facilities provided are above average in most regards. Constant care is taken with the appearance of the school.

    That said, the material learned is subpar at best. You are taught for roughly 2 or 3 hours each day, with classes only spanning 4 weeks. Because of this, you are required to learn more from the books given to you than the classes you attend. Don’t expect to learn anything because of Full Sail, expect to learn something because of the books that you can get at any bookstore.

    I would not do it again as Full Sail is an outright waste of money. The material covered is rushed, causing the classes to skip over entire sections which are vitally important to the subject. Taking a class at Full Sail is like reading half of the Cliff Notes for a book.

  • Review by Davis G.
    August 13, 2011
    Overall Rating 11111
    Tuition 11111
    Curriculum 11111
    Instructors 11111

    Full Sail University is a JOKE. The ONLY pleasant experience I had during my “one year” at Full Sail was getting to know Valerie, one of the Admissions Representatives, because she was actually really sweet — or just really good at her job, which is enrolling students!

    First of all, it’s INCREDIBLY EXPENSIVE for the “education” (and I use that word very lightly) that you get. Sure, you get the MacBook Pro and the software (which you pay for with student loans!), but each class is only a month long, with assignments due each week and a final at the end of the class. How much can you really learn in one whole month? Especially online?

    I took the Video Game Design – Online Bachelor’s program and I’m now almost 20K in debt after trying to get out of the school after only four months! They don’t charge per class or per semester, but PER YEAR. That means if you don’t like the school or the classes after only a month or two months in, you’re stuck paying for an an ENTIRE YEAR of tuition!

    You teach yourself in every class you have, either by reading PowerPoints the teachers have lazily put together, or reading the material yourself. You can’t contest grades and NO ONE ever gets back to you. It took me two months to have a supervisor talk to me because my Game History teacher had incorrectly deducted points off of three separate assignments, even though I followed her instructions to a T. Only after a battle which took weeks and proving I was right did I finally receive my credit for the class and appropriate grade.

    Full Sail University is a sham and only cares about how much money it makes — not its students. I guarantee you by going to Full Sail, you’ll be in debt for the rest of your life for an education that will not get you anywhere (especially the industry of your choosing!) and it will be one long three year headache, followed by a lifetime of regret.

  • Review by Jeff S.
    July 30, 2011
    Overall Rating 44444
    Tuition 33333
    Curriculum 44444
    Instructors 44444

    I have been going to Full Sail since January of 2011. The classes are very intense, and as mentioned by others; very invasive. You will eat, breathe, and sleep Full Sail until you graduate or drop out. The reason that about 20% of the kids drop out is that they just aren’t sure enough about their future careers as to invest their full time and effort into their corresponding degree program. I will owe around 50,000$ dollars for my Bach. of Science in Recording Arts after my education is done. However, if you compare this to other recording arts 4 year degree programs, the cost is actually less. The real world experience is incredible. In just a few short months, I have been a part of 2 ESPN all day video shoots with 3 different huge performers (I mean multi platinum recording artists). I don’t have to toot the horn of Full Sail, however we have been blessed enough to have Stevie Wonder, George Clinton, Tim Teebow, Curt Schilling, and many other well known performers and athletes integrate with Full Sail both giving speeches, and actually hiring students.

    Overall, I love the school- hate the weather. My biggest complaint is the hot Florida summers, but I knew it would be hot coming in. The teachers are very educated and tailored to work with students who do not live within the “box”. The assignments we have are very creative, and allow us to integrate our own personal hobbies and activities into our schooling. The facilities are incredible, with updates and remodeling being done on a monthly basis. It is truly state of the art. I would recommend it to anyone who has a passion for their degree program, but if you don’t know what you want to do- this isn’t the place to find out. Once you have decided what you want to do, and it fits within the Full Sail curriculum, this is the place to be. You will meet friends and connections through networking that you never would have normally.

  • Review by Britney A.
    December 21, 2010
    Overall Rating 22222
    Tuition 11111
    Curriculum 11111
    Instructors 11111

    I attended Full Sail for seven months in 2009. I had previously attended a big ten university and received a bachelors degree. With that said, the education Full Sail gives their students has no business being called a college level education. I left and am still trying to resolve my complaints with the school to no avail. I feel sorry for the parent that’s stuck paying the full $80K+ education to get their kid a worthless diploma. Do not be fooled by the “Behind the Scenes” tour. Save your money and spend it on your own equipment and get a good solid education at a community college. There is no student government in place to resolve issues and there is no customer service department… something that you would find at a traditional business. The school is quick to get you to sign a contract and collect their money but is pretty unwilling to listen to complaints and try to resolve them. There’s many an angry, frustrated graduate out there… and many of them for good reason

  • Review by SchoolReview
    October 28, 2010
    Overall Rating 11111
    Tuition 11111
    Curriculum 11111
    Instructors 11111

    Full Sail University is a greedy gimmick of a Film School. Because of the “accelerated” program, the classes are a month long, and you’re taught NOTHING, practically. The General Ed. classes are so lacking it’s horrendous. I don’t understand how they can legally hand you a diploma, you’re basically given cliff notes and tests. I’ve spoken to many teachers about the quality of their classes, and they admit that it’s a joke. Because at the end of every class, you’re given a sheet to rate your teacher. If the teacher gets poor rating, they’re sacked, which is a decent policy, however the teachers are terrified of losing their jobs, so they make the classes a breeze to pass, and in the end, the student suffers.
    Another thing Full Sail keeps quiet, is that if you attend for over 2 months, then drop out, you will still owe them tuition in FULL. And that’s anywhere from $50K-100. You’re basically promising your life to them.

    I got out before the deadline, and they’re still trying to squeeze every penny from me. They harass with bills, and robbed me of over $30K for less than 8 weeks of classes, and as I said before, the classes are of such poor quality, it’s a RAPING. I urge you, DO NOT attend this school, I hope it burns. It’s the biggest scam I’ve seen.Do yourself a favor and attend UCLA if you insist on getting a diploma for the entertainment industry. I’ve gone there too. They have a strong name in the industry, (where Full Sail is something Los Angeles has never heard of) and the classes actually have substance!

  • Review by Timothy M.
    September 7, 2010
    Overall Rating 11111
    Tuition 22222
    Curriculum 33333
    Instructors 33333

    I recently graduated with Education Media Design Master of Science degree. I learned a lot, curriculum was okay. Classes moved at a fast pace. One problem that I have is that Full Sail is offering degrees to teachers that are worthless in most states because they are NOT “regionally accredited or SACs accredited”. Check with your state before you enroll. I think the fact that they call themselves a “university” is misleading. I learned that they are only accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges. Their admissions department was not forthcoming with that information. I am disappointed to learn that my Masters degree is worthless in the district and state where I work. I will not be given a post-collegiate teaching license or a Master’s degree pay increase. I don’t understand why Full Sail does not become regionally accredited. If they feel that their program is so cutting edge and innovative how come they have not sought additional accreditation? I have asked this question to their administrators and the head of their Education department and did not get a straight answer. I guess they have no intention on becoming so or making sure that their programs measures up to the required standards for regional accreditation. The EMDT program has the potential to be a great program if Full Sail would become properly accredited and if they would lose some of their self absorbed, egotistical course directors (instructors). Don’t waste your money! Their credits also do not transfer to traditional regionally accredited colleges.

  • Review by G.K. (source)
    June 11, 2010
    Overall Rating 22222
    Tuition 22222
    Curriculum 22222
    Instructors 22222

    The best thing about this school is the hands on time you get with the gear. The school provides access to alot of expensive equipment, and the experience is a great networking experience for the entertainment industry. I would not go again due to the fact that classes are only a month long, leaving you with a feeling of academic bulimia and a sense of rushed time. I would most likely hire a student from here as long as they provided sufficient proof of knowledge of their specific career field.

    The worst thing about this school is the lack of interest in the students. Most everyone is treated like a wanna-be and never taken seriously. The time alloted for taking class is strenuous and I would say good-bye to part time work. This school is expensive and not nationally accredited.

  • Review by Roger M.
    January 5, 2010
    Overall Rating 11111
    Tuition 11111
    Curriculum 11111
    Instructors 11111

    I graduated from Full Sail in 2004 in Recording Arts near the top of my class. I am NOT one of the disgruntled students who couldn’t pull his own weight and wanted everything handed to him. I ran my own successful recording studio for 4yrs, 2 of that being after graduating from this joke of an institution.

    So there’s one thing full sail does well, and that’s marketing. They sell themselves extremely well to a vulnerable demographic: people with a dream of making it in the entertainment business. But once you’re in, and have dropped an astonishingly high dollar amount for your tuition, it’s all downhill from there. You will most likely have fun. I won’t deny I enjoyed myself. But I didn’t learn hardly anything useful. This place is a diploma milll; they pump through thousands of students every month, and you’re just another number to them. You go through the motions and get your paper that says you went through the motions. You get very little time recording. In fact, we got a whole 8 hrs of recording time in our one year at the school. That’s it. That’s all the real hands on experience we got. The rest of our time was spent wasted in classes that tell us over and over again we’re going to be making coffee when we get a job at a studio. Well no shit! Why am I here then?

    You do NOT need a degree to get in this business. In fact, I would say don’t get one at all. If you get a job at one of the (ever decreasing) studios that are hiring, they want someone who they can teach their own way. So just go out there and start networking and get your own internship and save your $70k+ or whatever they charge now for Full Sail. This is one of the most flooded job markets out there, and with the current state of the music business, there are less jobs every day. Between technology and the shift in the way things are done, there just isn’t a need for many engineers any more.

Leave a review

Overall Rating
Tuition
Curriculum
Instructors

Login using: